skip to Main Content


Celebrating 80 Years Of Service!

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) represents over 2,700 Board-certified otolaryngologists and health care providers. Otolaryngology, frequently referred to as Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT), uniquely combines medical and surgical expertise to care for patients with a variety of conditions affecting the ears, nose, and throat, as well as commonly related conditions. AAOA members devote part of their practice to the diagnosis and treatment of allergic disease. The AAOA actively supports its membership through education, research, and advocacy in the care of allergic patients.

"Advance the comprehensive management of allergy and inflammatory disease in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery through training, education, and advocacy."


Changes in MACRA

Macra 101 Image

Before the close of 2017, all physicians must take action to avoid the 4 percent cut that will be assessed in 2019 for not participating in the new Quality Payment Program (QPP) authorized by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).  Read More

CMS Announces Changes in MACRA Implementation Timeline. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced major changes to the implementation of the Medicare Access and CHIP Re-authorization (MACRA).
Read More

Upcoming Dates

02/15/22: Deadline For Call For Proposals
Learn more

02/28/22: 2022 Advanced Course Content Access
Learn more

04/01/22: Fellow Exam Application Deadline
Learn more

06/01/22: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

06/26/22: Membership Application Deadline to be eligible for AAOA Member rate for the 2022 Basic Course

08/01/22: Scientific Abstract Submission Deadline

09/01/22: Membership Application Deadline to be voted in at the 2022 Annual Meeting

12/01/22: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more


Have you missed The 2022 AAOA Advanced Course in Allergy & Immunology? Not a problem! The pre-work content and recorded live contenet are available on-demand until February 28th. Register Today


Available Now

IFAR Impact Factor: 2.454


IFAR Featured Content: COVID-19 - Free Access
Endonasal instrumentation and aerosolization risk in the era of COVID‐19: simulation, literature review, and proposed mitigation strategies . Read More

Changes in Managing Practices

Working together with AAOA staff, volunteer leadership and members will enable us to have a positive impact on our members’ practices.

Read More

Live and Online CME

2022 AAOA Advanced Course
On–Demand Access until February 28
Learn More and Register

2022 AAOA Basic Course - Hybrid!
The Diplomat Beach Resort, Hollywood, FL
June 30-July 2, 2022
Learn More and Register

2022 AAOA Annual Meeting
Loews Philadelphia, PA
September 9-11, 2022
Learn More and Get Your Hotel Room

USP 797 Online Module
Learn More and Register

News and Updates

Socio-Economic Committee Update May 2017

By AAOA Leadership Change is the only constant in life and medicine to borrow from…

read more
College Allergy Symptoms Treatment Back to Shcool


AAOA Practice Resource Tool Kit

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) Practice Resource Tool Kit is intended as a guide to help AAOA members integrate allergy into their otolaryngology practice and to continually improve on this integration as new information, regulations, and resources become available.

Read More


AAOA has launched a Partner Resource Center to bring you partner resources that can assist your practice and patient care.

Visit the New Center>


About American Academy Of Otolaryngic Allergy

Our volunteer leaders are the backbone of the AAOA and the AAOA Foundation.  Below are the volunteer member leaders representing you via the Committees and Workgroups of the AAOA.

Become a Member Today

Already a member?

The AAOA has many options for members to participate in the organization either on a one-time basis or in a more substantial role. Any member who would like to get involved will need to complete a Volunteer Form and submit a CV.

Upon receiving the completed form and CV, a member of the AAOA nomination committee will contact you for additional information.

two women looking at computer

AAOA Committees

Bylaws Committee

Kevin Wilson, MD, Secretary, Chair
James Connolly, MD
Paul Fass, MD
Keith Sale, MD
Robert Stachler, MD
Christopher Vickery, MD

Corporate Development

Alpen Patel, MD, Chair
Ivor Emanuel, MD,
Dole Baker, MD
Douglas Dawson, MD,
Charles Ebert, MD
Joshua Levy, MD
Ayesha Khalid, MD, MBA
Michael Platt, MD, MSC,
Robert Puchalski, MD
Arvin Rao, MD

Finance Committee

Douglas Dawson, MD, Treasurer & Chair
Dole Baker, MD
Todd Berinstein, MD, JD
Craig Folsom, MD
Jennifer Hanby, MD
Matthew Patterson, MD
Michael Platt, MD, MSC, President
Ewen Tseng, MD
Christopher Vickery, MD

Investment Committee

Matt Patterson, MD, Chair
Douglas Dawson, MD, Treasurer
Mas Takashima, MD, Foundation Treasurer
Todd Berinstein, MD, JD
Charles Ebert, MD, Foundation Secretary
Craig Folsom, MD
Jennifer Hanby, MD
Josh Levy, MD
Patricia Loftus, MD
Alpen Patel, MD
Michael Platt, MD, MSC, President
Kristin Seiberling, MD
Ewen Tseng, MD


AAOA Committees

Education Committee

Robert Stachler, MD, Education Coordinator & Chair
Christopher Brook, MD, Education Assessment Dir / Basic Course Director
Farrah Siddiqui, MD, Education Programs Director / Basic Course Director
Elisabeth Mahoney Davis, MD, Senior Basic Course
Ayesha Khalid, MD, MBA, President-Elect
Jack Krouse, MD, PhD, MBA, Advanced Course Director
Jennifer Villwock, MD, Advanced Course Director
Jack Fornadley, MD, Past Education Chair
Dana Crosby, MD
Michelle Liu, MD
Mona Patadia, MD
Michael Platt, MD, MSc
Jami Lucas

Education Assessment Workgroup

Christopher Brook, MD, Education Assessment Director, Chair
Melissa Hertler, MD
Rebecca Kamil, MD
Haidy Marzouk, MD
Nalin Patel, MD
Arvin Rao, MD
Lauren Roland, MD
Farrah Siddiqui, MD

56128033 - confident smiling business executive with folded arms near conference table with three co-workers discussing something in large bright office room

AAOA Committees

Patient & Professional Relations

Jennifer Villwock, MD, Chair
Dole Baker, MD, Socioeconomic Chair
Anna Butrymowicz, MD
James Connolly, MD
Dana Crosby, MD
Christine DeMason, MD
Steven Houser, MD
Ayesha Khalid, MD, MBA
Michelle Liu, MD
Haidy Marzouk, MD
Paul Neubauer, MD
Nalin Patel, MD
Alfred Sassler, DO
Christopher Vickery, MD
Jodi Zuckerman, MD

Socioeconomic Committee

Dole Baker, MD, Chair & BOG Leg Rep
Anna Butrymowicz, MD
James Connolly, MD
Dana Crosby, MD
Melissa Hertler, MD
Ayesha Khalid, MD, MBA
Nalin Patel, MD
Kevin Wilson, MD
Steve Houser, MD, ABOto Liaison
Robert Stachler, MD, AAOHNS BOG & GTF
Douglas Dawson, MD, BOG
Wesley VanderArk, MD, AMA Delegate
Robert Puchalski, MD, AMA Alternate
Paul Fass, MD, AMA CPT Representative

Back To Top